Adios, America… Hola, Spain!

After a 2 hour flight from Nashville, TN to Newark, NJ and a whopping 8 hour flight to Barcelona, Spain I am happy to say I finally made it here safely!! Our flight was so long that we ate dinner and breakfast on the plane! Luckily, I was able to get some sleep on the way. Unfortunately, I didn’t have a window seat on the plane and my headphone outlet didn’t work so I couldn’t watch the free movies they provided for us on United Airlines. Mandi, a fellow WKU Student Teacher, was kind enough to share her earbuds with me as we watched Meet the Millers. Once we landed we were greeted by our WKU Active Learning Abroad coordinator who gave us our first days agenda and maps that showed where our home stay placements were compared to the location of the school. Luckily, I only have a 14 minute walk to CRMSI school. A bus took us to the school where I met Javi, my host dad. Javi greeted me with a familiar handshake and a friendly smile. He drove us back to the apartment where he gave me a tour and I unloaded my stuff. Alex (his son who is 9 years old) was kind enough to give me his room during my stay. Alex in turn was staying with his 6 year old sister, Laura, for the time being. I was welcomed into my room with balloons and handmade drawings. I could tell Alex and Laura spend some time working on their masterpieces 🙂 After setting my things down, Javi and I went down to a coffee shop below the apartment. I tried a Spanish Ham sandwich which was delicious! Javi said it was a specialty there. He asked what food I liked and I said I was willing to try anything because I am not a picky eater. While there, Javi also mentioned some of the activities the family likes to do in their spare time like going to the park and museums. I can tell they are a young, active family eager to host their first foreign exchange student! I am excited to meet the rest of my host family- Marta (my host mom), Alex, and Laura!

20140422-132335.jpg

20140422-132344.jpg

20140422-132359.jpg

20140422-132412.jpg

20140422-132420.jpg

20140422-132433.jpg

4 thoughts on “Adios, America… Hola, Spain!

  1. Carter, Fred says:

    Kelly,

    Sounds like an awesome beginning. Have a great time. I will look forward to talking with you in about three weeks.

    Fred Carter

    Dr. Fred P. Carter
    Director of Teacher Services and School Relations
    Gary Ransdell Hall #2047
    Western Kentucky University
    1906 College Heights Blvd. #61031
    Bowling Green, KY 42101-1031
    fred.carter@wku.edu
    270-745-4897

    “The quality of a person’s life is in direct proportion to his or her commitment to excellence, regardless of his or her chosen field of endeavor.”

    Vince Lombardi

  2. Carrie Osborne says:

    We hope you have a fun trip. We can’t wait to learn more about Spain. We want to know what CRMSI stands for. We are the same age as Laura. Is she in Kindergarten? Maybe we can Skype her class. Have fun and be safe.
    Love,
    Mrs. Osborne’s Kindergarten Class!

    • Hola Mrs. Osborne’s class!
      CRMSI stands for Col•legi Reial Monestir de Santa Isabel (that’s the school I’ll be teaching at).
      Laura is actually in the 1st grade at CRMSI. I plan on asking one of the Kindergarten teachers if they would like to skype with your class 🙂

Leave a comment